Alright, alright. Calm down. So, some of you didn’t enjoy the book.

The biggest downfall to this series is not that it is jam-packed with cliches, or that Bella is completely hopeless. The biggest downfall has got to be the marketing—the fact that every one of you disappointed readers had gotten your hopes up for ‘the next big thing,’ only to find that it wasn’t to your liking.

Let me point out that 1) this was written for teenagers. And not in the sense that Harry Potter was written for teenagers—because it wasn’t—but this was made specifically catering to the girly longings most teenage girls have. Yes, it appeals to some of us adults. I found it a refreshing change from my complex, heavy-plotted novels that I’ve grown bored of as of late. 2) Yes, Bella is hopeless. She doesn’t think there is an interesting speck to her. Honestly, do any of us think such things? Bella would HARDLY be interesting if she knew she was beautiful. If she had one talent to her, aside from the protection her mind has from any sort of assault, everyone would be griping about that. I remember reading a book about a woman who had a dozen talents. I hated her for it. and 3) Yes, of course the book is remarkably cheesy at times. Sometimes, it’s what we want. The series only gets cheesier, mind you. And I loved every moment of it. Almost. (I found myself angry with a certain character in ‘Eclipse.’ But not angry with Meyer. Still, the anger lasted for quite some time.)

I’m a writer, too. It’s made reading books a little less enjoyable, because I’m constantly picking at other novels. I barely finish them nowadays, and if I do, it takes me ages. Of course there were problems with Twilight. There are problems with every novel. And I can see why some people wouldn’t enjoy the book just as I can see why so many girls adore it. If you take the book too seriously… if you expect something life-changing, of course you aren’t going to like it. But the book was fun. I had fun. Amazingly, I finished all three books in less than a week. I couldn’t put them down.

My Review
Despite some flaws in the novel… and I’m not talking about grammatical or spelling errors, I’m talking about odd glitches in the plot… I ADORED it, Stephenie Meyer. I’m amazingly picky about vampire novels, and I HATE romance novels right down to my core. But I loved this series. I loved Bella… she was human to me. She was selfish, and she struggled to be seen as good while all the while letting her desires win over. I loved her attitude, and her sarcasm. I love that she was very weird. And of course, I loved Edward, but that I won’t get into. That’s only because I’m a girl.

There was never a boring moment, to me, in the entire series. I devoured each book in record time… and quickly moved on to the next. Now, I’m left with a horrible ache as I wait for August to roll around. Maybe I’ll try The Host next, to ease my longing. In fact, that has to be one of my complaints—where ARE the dull moments? Do you realize, I stayed up until four AM to finish Twilight, because there was no place I could easily stop reading and fall asleep? I’d be awake, too anxious to sleep… wanting to know what happened next. Now I’m all done with the books released right now… now, I have nothing to do. Some who are not Twilighters would tell me to go read other books. Ha. What a silly thought. :D
I wonder if Stephenie Meyer reads these reviews. If she does, I want her to know I liked the series more than Harry Potter. I could list my reasons why, but that’d take too long. Those comparing the book to Harry Potter also should get something in their heads… it’s like comparing Underworld to ‘My best Friend’s Wedding’. Two completely different types of books, only brought together with the illusion that both series are made for young adults. shakes head

Oh well. I guess I’m a twilighter now. shrugs

Tagged as:

Comment

  1. james brown on 1 April 2009, 04:41 said:

    this theme is really wrong…does nt follow website usability standard and will just mess up people’s eyesight. pls change it back to the prior one. cheers
    btw, great article!

  2. Jeni on 1 April 2009, 05:47 said:

    OMG. You’re so right. You’ve converted me, how could I have ever hated Twilight??

    Those other haters must be freaks and should be wiped out. <<

  3. OverlordDan on 1 April 2009, 07:07 said:

    OMG UVE TOTLY GOTZ TEH RIGHT IDEA CAUZ TWILIGHT ROCKZORZ MY SOCKZORZ!!1!

    U SHULD READ ERAGON 2 ITS REALLY GOOD WITH LIKE DRAGONS ANS STUF.

    AANYWAYZ YOU HAZ FUNS NOW OK?!?!1?/1?

    :P

  4. Juniper on 1 April 2009, 08:57 said:

    OMG THAT MADE SO MUCH SENSE. I LUV U. I TAKE BACK EVERYTHIN IVE EVER SAD ABUT TWLIGH BC NAO I LUV IT!!!!1!!

    ALSO……..I LUV THE NU LAYOUT. IT TTTLY WORKS FOR THIS SITES THEME AND STUFF. THE ONLY THNG 2 MAK IT BETTR WULD B SUM SPARKLES!!!!!!

    AND ALL THE HATRS CAN SUCK IT. CUZ THER JUST JELOS AND HAVE NO LIVES.

    ASLO, TEAM JACOB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :DDDDDDDDDDDDDD

  5. Nate Winchester on 1 April 2009, 09:10 said:

    You are SOOOO right SlyShy! Meyers and Paolini are like… the best, writers EVAR!
    Lord of the Rings wishs it were as good as Inheritence and Jane Austin has nothing on Twilight!!!!

    GO TEAM BELLA!!!!

  6. Ely Mannyng on 1 April 2009, 09:12 said:

    Happy April Fools’ Day to you, too. But please do change the format from pink-on-purple to something more eye-friendly.

    Edward is my hero, so I’d like to confirm that you weren’t being at all sarcastic in this article? That would make the vampires angry. :)

  7. Amelie on 1 April 2009, 09:37 said:

    zomg edward n bella 4ever! this was liek such a gud articul!

  8. Dan Locke on 1 April 2009, 09:39 said:

    Hey, pink on purple is better than purple on red. I know this from experience.

  9. Cometstorm on 1 April 2009, 10:14 said:

    Hehehe.

    ZOMGODMARRYMEEDWARD

    FKDJFLSKDJFDJFKDLFJ

    drowns in own edward-induced saliva

    GURGLE

  10. Adam on 1 April 2009, 10:38 said:

    Why is this called “In Defense of The Book” in the URL? Just wondering…

  11. OverlordDan on 1 April 2009, 11:19 said:

    I took it as a joke, since almost all discusions of Twilight are derailed partway through by paragraphs upon paragraphs of caps locked praise. I for one think its a bit annoying when you are trying to have a decent conver-OMG U LEIKS JACOB 2 WE SHOULD TOTLYZ BE BESTEST FREIDZ!!1!2!!

  12. Kevin on 1 April 2009, 11:47 said:

    That Edward is like Justin Timberlake and Nick Nolte all rolled into one ball of awesome.

  13. Spanman on 1 April 2009, 12:50 said:

    I knew you would eventually see the light, SlyShy. It was only a matter of time.

  14. lookingforme on 1 April 2009, 15:24 said:

    They got to you too?
    Excuse me. I must go drown myself in my stand-up shower. (That’s going to be tricky…)

  15. Frederecksen on 1 April 2009, 15:41 said:

    i wuz liek totly rong about tqilight u reely showed how dumb i wuz thnx for it ill nevr make fun ov twilight agian meyer is awsom.

  16. Kitty on 1 April 2009, 16:31 said:

    I ship Edward/Jacob.

  17. Former Twilight Fan on 1 April 2009, 16:47 said:

    Good April Fools day joke. When I first clicked Impish on Google and stumbled onto this, I thought I had the wrong link. LOL!

    But I agree, the text is a bit hard to read…

    FTF
  18. Puppet on 1 April 2009, 16:58 said:

    Of course all the Twilight fans will take think this is real. AND OMG I LOVE THE BOOKS!

  19. Artimaeus on 1 April 2009, 18:05 said:

    <3<3<3<3 EDWARD!!!! <3<3<3<3

    ….

  20. Kevin on 1 April 2009, 18:07 said:

    Ladies, let me apologize on behalf of all males for falling short of Edward’s gold standard.

  21. Snow White Queen on 1 April 2009, 20:03 said:

    LyK OmGZ yOU cAN’t hAvE EdDY Hez MINEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

  22. Rand on 1 April 2009, 22:26 said:

    FTW.

    By the way- Whoa. James Brown is on this site too?

  23. GC on 2 April 2009, 15:32 said:

    On this site and blacker than the grave he’s rolling in.

  24. Corsair on 3 April 2009, 18:39 said:

    KILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZY
    KILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZY
    KILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZY
    KILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZY
    KILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZY
    KILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZY
    KILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZY
    KILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZY
    KILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZY
    KILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZY
    KILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZY
    KILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZY
    KILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZY
    KILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZYKILLFRENZY

  25. Snowlover on 20 January 2010, 21:58 said:

    I absolutely love the Twilight series for the EXACT reasons. The only thing that was holding me back from reading it was the fact that I had to wait for my friend to bring the books to school for me to borrow. I just finished Breaking Dawn, I LOVE IT! I know nobody will probably reply back.

  26. Puppet on 20 January 2010, 22:09 said:

    You do know that Sly posted this as a April 1st joke… right?

  27. steph (what is left) on 26 January 2010, 02:01 said:

    You do know that Snowlover is probably kidding, right?

  28. Puppet on 26 January 2010, 12:26 said:

    Let’s just say there have been quite a bit of Twilight fans who thought this was a fan-site.

    And if you aren’t a Twilight fan I apologize, Snowlover.