Not signed in (Sign In)

Categories

Vanilla 1.1.8 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

Welcome Guest!
Want to take part in these discussions? If you have an account, sign in now.
If you don't have an account, apply for one now.
    • CommentAuthorSamuel
    • CommentTimeFeb 24th 2010

G'day once more.

(This is my first attempt to create a thread. Apologies in advance if I've done anything wrong, put it in the wrong section or something idiotic like that...)

Now, I've been thinking about a certain theme for a new story. Immortaliy. Essentially, it's about a being (Alien or human) who has been granted immortality (Either by divine intervention or biological reasons. I haven't decided yet.) and spends its life moving from planet to planet. Inspiration came from a discussion with a few of my mates on immortality. One said that he'd just live his life The thing is, a few of my ideas seem great in my head, but I can see how it can lead to complications later in the story. I'm looking for some feedback on them, and even if the entire concept is feasible.

The first element is the being having complete immortality. It can't die. Not through harm nor age. It feels, and can get wounded, but they will heal given the time. That was my initial concept. But then I saw that it'd lead to very boring stories, since I'm not all that at creating non-action oriented stories. I can make them, but can't keep them from getting boring after a while. So, my first question is, could complete immortality work in this, or should the character have the conventional ways of dying?

The thing is, that I've had complete immortality in my head, so that whenever a star goes Nova, he could drift off to his next destination.