Not signed in (Sign In)

Categories

Vanilla 1.1.8 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

Welcome Guest!
Want to take part in these discussions? If you have an account, sign in now.
If you don't have an account, apply for one now.
    • CommentAuthorDarkRaven
    • CommentTimeSep 15th 2010

So I’m in my final year in secondary school, where I have a pretty important exam (actually very important), that decides what university course I’ll get, and by extension what job I’ll get. As you may have judged from my absence here in recent times, this has led to me putting my head down and studying away diligently. (A brilliant feature of our Irish education system, is that everything is defined by exams, with no room for coursework…) As a result of said diligent study, I’ve done no writing whatsoever in recent times, aside from school essays. My question is: what do you all do when you are faced with a choice between writing, and school/university/career. For me, I really want to be a published author, but I realise that it’s very VERY difficult to get anywhere in that world, therefore I’m looking to qualify myself so that I can get a job if that dream fails.

Also, do long absences (in the region of nine months…) from regular writing hugely affect your quality of writing? I know mine improved DRASTICALLY over the last year.

•  
      CommentAuthorswenson

I, regretfully, usually sacrifice writing in favor of other things. It’s not necessarily that writing is hard for me, it’s more that writing requires a commitment I’m not willing to make, because I am inconceivably lazy. I can definitely confirm, though, that not writing regularly does make my writing suffer. If I wrote more often, I’m sure it’d be easier for me and maybe even come faster, but I just don’t write enough at all.